Day 12: Why Knitting Is The Ultimate Creative Act (And How To Arm Knit)

First of all, I want to share with you a two minute track I have rediscovered in the depths of my too-extensive Windows Media Player library. (What’s up, I still don’t use itunes!) Simple but inspired and calming, it’s just the sound of the Plum Village bell and Thich Nhat Hanh (Thay) sharing his mindfulness practice for increasing love and joy in life.

This feels like a good introduction to my knitting experience because a lovely lady I met at Plum Village two years ago is the one who introduced me to the art of textile traditions.

Thanks for joining my creative flow, dear friends! Read on…

Knitting

When one dimension becomes three
a line becomes length, width and depth,
when separates become whole,
a new identity is created.

Today with my hands wrapped in yarn
I felt the ancient mothers
supporting me from below
as I called upon centuries of life and ritual.

The most ancient act
of life and love
is creating and protecting
using the energy of your own two hands.

Thank you wise grandmothers
and ancient women I can’t remember
for doing your creative duty to nurture and preserve
the ever-resilient human race.

Because of you I learned to arm knit
and now I have a snuggly warm infinity scarf
to wear and protect me from the chilly, wet
Madrid winter mornings.

WIN_20140112_152611

Well, thanks to you ladies
and this dark haired mermaid I met
at Plum Village when we studied meditation
at The Science of the Buddha three week retreat.

Look how long this baby is! I bought four skeins of yarn from the local  Chino it cost me less than ten euros and was intense fun. I owe it all to Ju Ju who showed me the website.

Look how long this baby is!
I bought four skeins of yarn from the local Chino
which cost me less than ten euros and was intense fun.
I owe it all to Ju Ju who showed me the website.

Here's the website http://www.simplymaggie.com/how-to-arm-knit I found it on ravelry.com this is the second project I've done on there.

Here is the website:
http://www.simplymaggie.com/how-to-arm-knit
I found it on ravelry.com
this is the second project I’ve done on there.

WIN_20140112_171409

Now I have this gorgeous, fuzzy pet to drape around my shoulders
I am going to be so warm!
Good thing too,
they don’t heat the Spanish public schools so well.

WIN_20140112_171506 WIN_20140112_171514 WIN_20140112_171510

WIN_20140112_171605WIN_20140112_171445

If anyone else out there is working on their creative flow, I’d love to hear about your experience with this super rewarding project! It’s a low risk investment on your mental health for sure. I would like to make a whole blanket using this fluffy technique.

I put on a docufilm and finished this baby in two hours! I’m a total novice, this is only my second knit thing ever so if you already know what you’re doing, you should double the amount of yarn in the recipe below and make a gift for a loved one!

Ingredients for a good time:
4 Skeins of fuzzy yarn
2.5 hours
and this movie:

I can’t believe it took me nine years to see this movie, I’m totally in awe!
If you haven’t seen it, be warned! You can literally never live your life the same way again after watching it.

The explanation of how science and spirituality combine with the laws of quantum physics is just life changing! Also there’s superheroes. So that’s cool too.

Create Something Here:

