Day 76: Sometimes Riding The Metro Gets Pretty Existential

Something cute to warm you up before the brain juice gets flowin'...
I don’t even know how to express the emotions this makes me feel.

The word “emotion” comes from the Latin movere “to move” and e meaning “out.”Literally, emotions are energy moving out of the unconsciousness, through the body, and into the conscious mind.

I am a Highly Sensitive Person, which I’m realizing deserves a post all of its own, and so I feel quite confident that I am an expert on feeling all the emotions in the universe. In any given day I experience all the highest highs right alongside the lowest lows, if I’m lucky and I don’t get stuck at one end of the spectrum.

This does not in any way mean that I am an expert on handling all the emotions in the universe. That’s why I love this knowledge so much. As a person on the never-ending road to self-improvement, the idea of energy moving up and out of me is really exciting because it means I have a chance to 1. see how I’m functioning internally and 2. decide if I like it or not.

Emotions viewed in this light become the best friends of the person seeking her higher self and truer existence. These little guys become signals which put your surroundings onto the  “stop, chill out, go” spectrum and help us live lives that reflect our desires to be closer to Nature, God, and the Universe.

Suppressing emotions robs us of the chance to grow into a better version of ourselves in addition to the tension blocking them causes. It’s acting from unconscious motivations that so often get us into trouble and this flow of consciousness through the body recharges it, cleanses, and heals it, too. Releasing emotions releases tension and vice versa! That’s why yoga can be such a hard experience in the beginning and even later on (cough, after five years, cough).

Morals of the story: feel emotions, don’t worry about them, do yoga.

♥,
The Sacred Here & Now

P.S. WELL? How does this make you FEEL?

P.P.S I accidentally just made my 100th post. YAY!

3 thoughts on “Day 76: Sometimes Riding The Metro Gets Pretty Existential

Add yours

  1. i had no idea about the latin meaning of the word! – duh. i have been practicing the mantra of “i allow this energy to move through me” when i’m feeling an imbalance of emotional energy. it’s not always easy, but i believe it works!

    1. audrey, i read about it in Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith: an amazing book on the chakras i can’t recommend enough. i’m working towards that mantra of yours, it’s the next step. right now i picture myself a calm lake under a blue sky and emotions/thoughts are the clouds reflected in me; i say hello from below, label them and watch them float on by!

Create Something Here:

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑