Day 85: Everything Happens For A Reason?

Purpose

Purpose

Que será, será: what will be, will be. Do I believe in fate or do I control my own destiny? Well shucks, can’t I choose both, Daily Prompt? Of course this would be your topic today; I’ve been thinking about how to write about this subject for the last week, ever since a friend asked me what I thought about the phrase “everything happens for a reason.” Seems like today’s the day.

Actually this was the thought that changed everything for me, it was my point of no return. Instead of using it as an excuse to check out of my life, this phrase woke me up. The fact that I don’t know where the idea came from before it rooted in my consciousness makes me sure that it’s a good one.

When we admit that everything happens for a reason several things happen:

We have faith in a greater power outside of us that has a better understanding of what’s ultimately good for us and the entire human race.

We let go of the need to know and control everything in life and acknowledge that we are co-creators with God.

We open up to the possibility of learning new things in unexpected ways and gaining perspective that changes our understanding of the world.

Most importantly, believing that everything happens for a reason comes in a handy little combo-pack with the understanding that challenges and problems aren’t there just to make us feel like victims. In this mindset we know that they play roles in our lives that are equally important as our successes and achievements.

This is faith, gratitude and compassion in action. Instead of going to a place of self-deprecation, anger, and sadness when we miss the train, the belief that everything happens for a reason can help us choose equanimity and peace. Because it encompasses so many different spiritual practices, this mantra is one of my best tools for staying in the present moment where I am grounded in the love of the Universe. I hope you’ll give it a shot.

9 thoughts on “Day 85: Everything Happens For A Reason?

Create Something Here:

