Day 93: What Is Joy?

"allow" being the key word

“allow” being the key word

This affirmation really struck me today.

Through all the health struggles, work pressure, relationship issues, and the ongoing battle love and fear are waging in my life, I have still found moments of deep joy and gratitude over the last seven months, but today when I woke up to a message that ended with the question, “Are you happy?” I was pretty conflicted. My instinct was yes but my frown said no. So I thought about it.

There is a deep internal knowing that I am a blissed-out, joyful being of light that I have come to recognize over the last seven years of being a happiness advocate and I know this is the undercurrent of all my daily experiences because of constant, daily work. Yet I still have trouble seeing how can I ignore the struggles and challenges — which are often at the fore of my mind — by putting the stamp “happy” on my forehead (ego)? I’m not the only one who thinks a weaker person would collapse in my position… so don’t I deserve the space to be sad?

Well the answer is yes. YES. Do you hear me?

Sorry, slipped into my teacher voice there for a moment talking to myself. I answer my own questions a lot.

We all deserve the space to be sad and depressed because they are just the valleys of the sine wave of this human experience. That’s called compassion, ahimsa. Without the changes on this crazy ride, we wouldn’t get the chance to stick our feet out the window and feel the warm breeze rush through our hair – there would be no movement, nothing to experience, total monotony. Yes, I know permanent monotony seems appealing some days but think about it more realistically please, Veronica.

You see, I know all the doubts, I’ve had them all, or at least it feels like I have. I’m getting pretty good at talking myself down from those wild points-of-no-return insanity and all I can say about that is practice makes perfect. Let me be of service to you with this humble offering of an affirmation and then let yourself touch joy for just one moment. Don’t be afraid. One moment is all it takes to remind yourself there are good things and then you can go back to your well-deserved valley/cave/blanket fort. Joy will be there when your solitude has done its work.

 

With Joy, Sadness, and Everything In Between,

The Sacred Here and Now

5 thoughts on “Day 93: What Is Joy?

Create Something Here:

